Battle Plan 2015

This month the Janes — at the suggestion of Jane Asa — are discussing BATTLE PLANS! Doesn’t that sound much more inspiring than “goals” or god forbid “resolutions”? I already feel more energized. Or maybe I mean combative. Of course a woman who writes about Viking warriors (coming out this year!) has battle plans 🙂 Thanks for the topic, Asa.

During this last week or so, I’ve been following the 2015 plans of my friends, family, and compatriots. I like to see what other people are doing/thinking of doing because it gives me ideas. What I think is interesting this year is the tenor of the plans. In years past, I’ve always seen a certain amount of “this year I’m going to learn to relax/meditate/take it easy/stop worrying”. This year, I’ve seen almost none of that. It’s like we’ve all just admitted we kinda like the rat race. We revel in the battle!

Jessa Slade paranormal romance warrior woman

You can easily identify a fearless warrior woman by her floral blouse and polka dot socks. Plus gauntlet, of course.

Since my to-do list is already longer than a bastard sword, I guess it’s a good thing that I too have committed to the fight. My scheduled bibliography of books to write goes to Christmas 2015 and beyond. And I still have things on my list from 2013 that I am determined to conquer. (Curse you, closet organization!) My community center has a new list of exercise classes, a couple of which might actually interest me. Though no jousting, sadly.

There’s just too much I want to accomplish to not go forth boldly and seize the day. Or as Calvin & Hobbes used to say, seize the day and throttle it! Seize all of 2015! That’s what gauntlets are for, after all.

If you want to commit to some bold action this year, please share it in comments this month. Words have their own power, so write it down here and then make a copy for yourself to post somewhere where it can inspire you to act.

Here’s wishing all of you a bold, rewarding new year!

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on January 5, 2015, in Auth: Jessa Slade and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I like that. Battle Plan. That is the best way to describe go forth and conquer. Sadly, I’m one of the ones who used the word “resolutions”. I will forevermore not do that again, lol.

    Like

  2. That is such an awesome photo. Where did you get that gauntlet?

    Like

  3. I feel like bursting into song. “Onward, Christian Soldiers marching as to war.” But I realize that as I write the words down I never really understood them. However, I do agree with you. I surveyed numerous authors using the dreaded words “resolutions” rather than the uplifting “Battle Plan” and most are already in the fight – armed with words, paper, and a to-do list. My blood surges through my veins.

    Like

    • And the blood of our vanquished enemies — procrastination, plot bunnies, and misplaced modifiers — will flow before us like celebratory wine!

      But, like, not in a gross way or anything.

      Like

  4. Save a little steely narrow-eyed glare for Sunday as we conquer our SJP plans… and maybe a cocktail or two. Margaritas anyone?

    Like

  5. I love that picture of you! I may print that out and post is somewhere to remind me of my battle plans. 🙂

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on Jessa Slade and commented:
    Sharing my steely narrow-eyed glare at 2015 from See Jane Publish.

    Like

  1. Pingback: January with the Janes | Asa Maria Bradley

Thanks for your comment!

