Stealing Licks by Rainstick Cowbell

Note from Jessa: When I told my XY about this month’s topic — real-life romance — he started to reminisce about how we met. I quickly shut him down and told him to write it down. Hey, no romance writer worth her weight in chocolate lets a good love story go unwritten!

S&J clean

A portrait of artists as young starving artists: Jessa Slade and Rainstick Cowbell before they were rich and famous, along with dog Hannah (with tongue and stick) and friend’s dog Foo.

For me it happened quick. At least how I remember it. I was living in a small ski town in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado. I think the ratio of guys to girls was something like ten to one. But somehow, I met my love at two thousand meters.

It was because of the music I was making that the local paper sent over their crack reporter to profile me and my buddy about our band. It was a slow news town. We were meeting at a cafe and I was running late from an afternoon nap that had overstepped its boundaries. I walk in and this skinny blond is sitting with my buddy and I’m completely taken aback. The reporter is hot. Really beautiful. She talks fast, firing questions. I’m doing my best to keep up and be witty but I’m not on my game. It was over quick and I was too stunned to make any rational (and not desperate) advancements on her, but lucky for me she had to come back to our house the next night with the photographer for the big photo shoot. Luck was with me again the next night because the photographer couldn’t show up and we had this awkward moment, standing in the kitchen – the nervous silence of “what to do”. I made my move.

The bar at the end of the street was always loud and crowded. We had gotten there early enough that we settled ourselves into the coveted corner bar stools and ordered some drinks. Then I don’t know what happened. Fucking vortex or some shit. Time slowed. I was so focused on her face. Her hair. On her mouth. The words that came out. This woman had dreams. She had goals. She was smart. Funny. Laughing at my dumb jokes. I had no idea what happened but after a LONG time, like 3 or 4 hours, a pause happened. A strange stillness settled between us and I sat back on the stool, stretched my stiffened back and looked around.

The bar was packed. Just fucking jammed with drunken revelers regaling each other with the days ski report. I hadn’t realized anybody was around me. People were right against us, consumed in their own drama and joy. (Vacation towns are like that.) I was so completely focused on her that I had lost awareness of my surroundings. I lost time. I lost myself. Right then, at that exact moment, I experienced her magic for the first time.

Two decades have gone past and I still see her face that night in my tunneled vision. It has been that way ever since. Even now, closer to sea-level, my focus on her has never wavered. And she still laughs at my dumb jokes.

RSCB_HotHRainstick Cowbell‘s latest album HAND OVER THE HEART has one semi-love song titled “Coming in for the Perfect Kiss” that better be at least inspired by Jessa Slade. Hear the song from the first Jessa Slade novel, SEDUCED BY SHADOWS at the Rainstick Cowbell music page. (Can you tell who wrote this bio?)

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on February 6, 2015, in Auth: Special Guest, Dogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Foo Snickens was my dog……he was a great dog

    Like

  2. Wow! Because I know you now, it’s nice to hear that you both were awesome from the beginning. 😄 Do you have the newspaper article framed?

    Like

  3. Fabulous. Before now I did not know your love story. BTW great picture.

    Like

  4. I love how we met stories. This is a good one!

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on Jessa Slade and commented:
    Cross posted from See Jane Publish for our month of real-life romance.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

