LOVE AT FIRST SITE? NONSENSE

Image via Death to the Stock Photo

Image via Death to the Stock Photo

Though a hopeless romantic since I started reading Barbara Cartland’s Regencies at the tender age of thirteen, I didn’t believe in love at first site.

Oh, the notion worked in romance novels but real life? Not so much.

My sister convinced me to go on a blind date with a guy she knew. He was the cousin of her boyfriend’s best friend’s girlfriend.

Got that? I’ll wait while you read it again.

Anyhow, the date wasn’t a disaster except for him having to push my rear-end into his truck that had a gargantuan lift kit on it. I was in a dress and heels. Not a sexy or graceful way to begin a first date.

As I write this, I realize it was exactly thirty-three years ago today, January seventeenth, that he asked me to marry him, a whopping two and half weeks after we met. He hid my engagement ring in a box of McDonald Land cookies.

I thought it was a fake ring like a Cracker Jack prize.

Really.

I call hubby my red-neck rogue, because the first bouquet he ever gave me was a handful of pheasant tail feathers, and his compliments, though well-meaning, often miss their mark.

For instance, “I like your stench,” and “You’re not that fat for a woman your age,” are two actual examples of his less than poetic praise.

Still, we’ll celebrate thirty-two years of marriage in April, so perhaps there is HEA_heart_bluesomething to that love at first sight nonsense after all.

Author Bio:

Award winning, bestselling historical author, Collette Cameron admits to a quirky sense of humor, loves trivia, flowers, inspirational quotes, anything cobalt blue, Cadbury Milk Chocolate, and makes her home in Oregon with her husband and five mini-dachshunds. Her motto for life? You can’t have too much chocolate, too many hugs, or too many flowers. She’s thinking about adding shoes to that list.

About Jamie Brazil

Humor writer, romance novelist, Bloodhound enthusiast.

Posted on February 10, 2015, in Auth: Special Guest, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OMG! I’m riding public transportation to work right now and I can’t stop laughing. You have a goldmine with your hubby’s comments. I could completely see anti-hallmark slogans showing up on your Facebook feed 😄 to amuse your readers.

    Like

  2. Awww, I love the ring in the cookie box 🙂 Thanks for guesting today, Collette!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

