Importing a Scotsman

Photo courtesy of Death to the Stock Photo

Photo courtesy of Death to the Stock Photo

It’s our running couple joke, our cheeky explanation when people ask how my Scottish husband and I met. I tell people I found my husband online and imported him from Scotland. Luckily, only one guy at a party actually believed me. The truth is we met online, then in person, and then decided to tackle the long, complicated, expensive, and heart-wrenching international marriage visa process.

Did I mention the visa process is long? We waited almost a year for US Citizenship and Immigration Services to approve our K1 Fiancé Visa application so that we could marry. During that time Hubby had to return to Scotland for several months to complete the visa process. At one point, during one of our frequent, only-makes-me-miss-you-more phone conversations, he called the whole thing soul-destroying—the wait, the fees, the paperwork, the forms and more waiting. It was a rare moment of hyperbole for my normally stoic Scotsman, but it perfectly echoed my own fears, frustration, and impatience.

Now, soon to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary, I’m far enough away from that year of waiting to see it as a kind of gift. It forced us into teamwork mode as we collected paperwork and documents, and made travel and wedding plans, while living thousands of miles apart. It challenged our bond and commitment. I remember thinking that if we made it through the visa process, everything else would be smooth sailing. Yep, you’re right—that hasn’t proven true. We’ve been through a lot worse than jumping through bureaucratic hoops in the last few years, but I’m willing to concede that those months of waiting, of focusing together on the objective of being together, made us stronger. Now, when challenges come, we know we’ll make it through.

Christy Carlyle writes sensual, and sometimes downright steamy, historical romance, usually set in the Victorian era or Regency period. She loves heroes who struggle against all odds and heroines that are ahead of their time. A former teacher with a degree in history, she finds there is nothing better than being able to combine her love of the past with her die-hard belief in happy endings.

http://www.christycarlyle.com

Scandalous Wager Wanton Wager

 

About Jamie Brazil

Humor writer, romance novelist, Bloodhound enthusiast.

Posted on February 11, 2015, in Auth: Special Guest, General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I can’t believe its been 4 years already. I remember when you first told me about finding love with a Scotsman and I thought that was the coolest thing ever!

    Thank you for guest blogging at See Jane Publish!

    Like

  2. Thanks for being part of our 28-day marathon, Christy! Maggie is right about the real test of marriage happening after the honeymoon. You have a gem in your Scotsman 🙂

    Like

  3. Having met your Scotsman, I think he was worth waiting for. I do think it is fortunate you had those challenges early on and learned to work together toward a common goal. Too often, early marriage is all sweetness and sunshine (the honeymoon phase) and then when a challenge comes up later the couple is unable to cope with the difficulties because the emotions of anger, impatience, frustration, etc. haven’t been experienced before.

    Loved the post.

    Like

  4. Thanks for inviting me to post, Jamie!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

