Love at First Sight by Rachel Lacey

Note from Åsa: Okay, I admit I have a problem. I can’t stop reading Rachel Lacey’s Love to the Rescue series. She had me at first sight of the cover of Unleashed, because of the cute boxer puppy. How are you supposed to resist that?! With strong heroines, cute dogs, and swoon-worthy heroes, resisting this series is futile. 

Here’s Rachel’s story about how she met love at first sight. 

RachelLacey

Rachel & Lacy

I wish I could write about the moment my husband and I met…except we don’t remember it. It was my first day of work, and he was the IT guy who set up my computer. Neither of us have a single memory of it, so I guess we did not make a big impression on each other 🙂 A few months later, though, I started having a lot of computer problems that required the assistance of the cute IT guy…

But what I really want to write about today is a different kind of love at first sight. My first book series, Love to the Rescue, features three heroines who work in animal rescue. They rescue dogs, and in the process, they end up finding their own true love. Animal rescue is very important to me too, and so I want to tell you about the day I met and fell in love with a beautiful girl named Lacy.

My husband, Bill, and I had always said we would adopt a dog after we were settled in our first house, and when the time came, we applied to adopt through Carolina Boxer Rescue. We saw Lacy on their website, and I felt an immediate connection. But when I inquired about her, I was told she already had an adoption pending. I was irrationally disappointed 😦 In the meantime, we met another dog, but didn’t feel the right bond. Then Lacy’s adoption fell through.

We drove three hours to her foster home in Wilmington, NC, to meet her. We’d been warned that she could be slow to warm up to strangers (she had come out of an abusive home). When we got there, Lacy and her foster brother were playing in the backyard. She ran right at me, and when I knelt to greet her, she knocked me over to kiss my face. It was a total love at first sight moment! She’s been a well-loved member of our family for eight years now (and I’ve never seen her greet another stranger so enthusiastically).

Sometimes things just work out the way they’re meant to. And while I didn’t experience love at first sight with my husband, I couldn’t be happier with the way things worked out for us, and with Lacy.

About Rachel

Rachel Lacey writes contemporary romance that tugs at your heartstrings. Her latest book, For Keeps, features a full cast of furry characters as well as one swoon-worthy cowboy. You can find her online at www.rachellacey.com, or connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest.

ForKeepsFor Keeps

A summer fling…or something more?

Merry Atwater would do just about anything to save her dog rescue – even if it means working with the most stubborn man on the planet. It’s hard to avoid the sparks that fly with TJ Jameson, the ruggedly sexy cowboy in charge of the children’s camp where she’s just taken an animal therapy job. But commitment is not Merry’s style, and TJ clearly wants more than just a roll in the hay.

TJ Jameson isn’t looking for anything complicated-just a peaceful life on his family’s ranch with a wife and kids. “No-strings” Merry Atwater doesn’t fit that bill, no matter how irresistible she is. But when he sees how Merry gets through to his autistic nephew and the other kids at Camp Blue Sky, TJ’s a goner. If he doesn’t give in to the now, he might just lose his shot at forever . . .

About Asa Maria Bradley

2016 Double RITA finalist, romance author, news junkie, physics instructor, and diver. Loves Norse mythology, ranch dressing, and cop shows. Lives with husband and rescue dog of indeterminate breed in Pacific Northwest. Represented by Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency. Writers about sexy modern-day Vikings. More at www.asamariabradley.com and @AsaMariaBradley.

Posted on February 19, 2015, in Auth: Asa Maria Bradley, Auth: Special Guest, Dogs, Real-Life Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Hi Rachel-
    I LOVE your love story! When I first met my (formerly) stray kitty Miss Loretta we both had a ‘Hey, I think I know you’ reaction.’ But nobody got knocked bum over teakettle 🙂 Your books sound wonderful.

    Like

  2. This is such a sweet story, Rachel!!

    Like

  3. That is definitely a cool love-at-first-sight story. I always figure people who love animals are good people because they already show a great compassion for animals. When DH and I met, he had three tiny cats and I had two large dogs (Akitas). The first six months of living together was an interesting time in training the five to play nice. But they did get there. And along the way we learned to play nice ourselves. 🙂

    Like

  4. Thank you Rachel for coming to See Jane Publish and sharing your true love canine story. I always joke that I’d there is a cute dog on the cover I will read the book 🙂 I look forward to reading your series.

    Like

  5. Hi Rachel! Thank you so much for sharing your story. I just finished FOR KEEPS and loved it.

    I wish we lived closer so your Lacy could have a play date with my Sammy!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

