Cloudy with a Chance of Love by Annie Rains

Note from Åsa: I first met Annie at the RWA national conference in San Antonio last year. She is smart, sweet, and seriously fun. Since then, Annie has had a busy calendar. She had a baby, signed with an agent, and sold her first book. I can’t wait to read her Hero’s Welcome series. 

Here’s Annie’s story about love and rain. 

????????????I predicted meeting my husband the week before I did.

Kind of.

While I was out to lunch with a co-worker I started talking to a hostess, whose name badge read: Rainey. “I love that name!” I told her. “If I met a man with that name, I’d marry him.”

It would be a strange thing for most people to say. Not for me, though. From as early as I can remember, I’ve always had a love affair with the rain. The front porch swing had a special place for me if the clouds even threatened stormy weather. So, of course, if I met a man named Rain, I’d marry him, right? It makes sense (at least to me).

The very next week I met a man online. From his picture, I could tell that he was cute, and we had a lot in common. Then, in an email, he signed his name: Sonny Rains. I knew we had to meet! One week later, we arranged to meet at a little café nearby. I got there first and waited nervously for the man I had a sneaking feeling would become my husband. When he walked into the room, he was so familiar to me, like a long, lost friend. We talked for over an hour that day, then arranged to meet again the next day. And again the next.

Eleven months later, we hopped aboard a plane and eloped to San Francisco! How can you not marry a man who has raindrops engraved on your engagement ring? I’m sure family and friends thought it was a rash decision. It was definitely out-of-character for me, a woman who, at nearly thirty-years-old, had a house, a solid job, and lived responsibly with barely a traffic ticket to her name. But, here we are, seven years and three kids later, still living out our happily-ever-after. It hasn’t always been easy. We argue and fight (rarely), there are good days and bad. On the bad days I like to tell my husband that he’s lucky his last name was Rains. That’s just a joke, though, because the real reason I married him goes beyond words. He’s everything I never knew I wanted in my real life hero. The heroes I write in my romances could never compare.

anniepicAbout Annie

Annie Rains is a contemporary romance author who writes small town love stories set in fictional towns on the coast of North Carolina. Raised in one of America’s largest military communities, Annie often features heroes who fight for their countries, while also fighting for a place to call home and a good woman to love. Look for Annie’s debut novel FOREVER YOURS in her Hero’s Welcome series in 2016 (Loveswept). Follow Annie on Twitter or visit her website.

About Asa Maria Bradley

2016 Double RITA finalist, romance author, news junkie, physics instructor, and diver. Loves Norse mythology, ranch dressing, and cop shows. Lives with husband and rescue dog of indeterminate breed in Pacific Northwest. Represented by Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency. Writers about sexy modern-day Vikings. More at www.asamariabradley.com and @AsaMariaBradley.

Posted on February 20, 2015, in Auth: Asa Maria Bradley, Auth: Special Guest, Real-Life Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love it, Annie!!! A real-life sort of love-at-first-sight :).

    Like

  2. What a prescient moment for you. Great story of your meeting and marriage.

    Like

  3. Thanks for having me on your blog today! I love sharing my real life love story!

    Annie

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

