A Shot at Happily Ever After by Gina Conkle

Note from Åsa: I’ve actually never met Gina, but feel like she’s a long lost friend. At RWA nationals last year, people kept telling me that I had to look her up, because she too writes about Vikings. When I finally did, it turned out we are represented by the same agent *and* write for the same editor. Gina has been amazingly generous with advice and encouragement during my publication journey and I can’t wait to actually meet her this summer at the RWA conference in NYC. 

Here’s how Gina met her husband, so not the story I expected. 🙂

GinaConkleWhat happens when you take one conservative girl, add in a bad boy, and mix them together at a dive bar at midnight?

You get a pool shot that ends in a 3 minute Vegas wedding the next morning.

Right about now you’re thinking, “Whoa! What happened?” Well, let me tell you…

Brian (the bad boy) and I worked together at a staid biotech company. When he came on board, anyone with estrogen went ga-ga over him. I steered clear for that reason and because he was too wild for this quiet girl. But, he kept asking about me and making genuine overtures of friendship. When he found out I was into running, he suggested we go running together once a week…a friendly co-worker kind of thing on Mondays. Then, he invited me to a 10K race for which I wore no make-up, sweated profusely, and was tomato red when crossing the finish line.

You’d think a man would run for the hills. Instead, he asked me out on a date. Four months later he asked me to marry him: once at an intersection after a bad movie, the other time across a pool table at dive bar (as if once wasn’t enough!).

8ballThat fateful night, Brian positioned himself to shoot the 8 ball. He paused and said, “If I make this shot, we’re going to Vegas. Tonight.” Of course I said yes and gave him some clearance. He made the double bank shot and looked at me, waiting. I nodded because he couldn’t hear my “yes” for the awful heavy metal music blaring. Off we went for a midnight ride to Vegas.

For the record, I passed on Elvis marrying us and the drive through wedding option, but I proudly wore my $5 Circus Circus wedding ring for two years.

I’m glad to say our love has baked happily for almost 21 years now, producing two teenage boys with more decades of love and fun ahead.

1200Maybe my trend for midnight antics is Freudian? Late night rendezvous are the cornerstone of my Georgian romance series Midnight Meetings. Go figure!

And just in time for SJP’s month of Real Life Romance, Book 1, The Earl at Midnight is $1.99 on Kindle and Nook right now. Book 2, The Lady Meets her Match will release April 7th.

About Gina

Gina Conkle writes Viking and Georgian romance with a softly sensual side. She loves history, books and romance…the perfect recipe for historical romance writer. Her passion for castles and old places —the older and moldier the better— means interesting family vacations. She welcomes connecting with you here: http://ginaconkle.com/ where you can join her newsletter or connect on twitter, Facebook, or Pinterest.

About Asa Maria Bradley

2016 Double RITA finalist, romance author, news junkie, physics instructor, and diver. Loves Norse mythology, ranch dressing, and cop shows. Lives with husband and rescue dog of indeterminate breed in Pacific Northwest. Represented by Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency. Writers about sexy modern-day Vikings. More at www.asamariabradley.com and @AsaMariaBradley.

Posted on February 22, 2015, in Auth: Asa Maria Bradley, Auth: Special Guest, Real-Life Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You always have to watch the “conservative” ones with secret dreams about bad boys. 🙂 When the right one comes along they jump without looking back–not conservative at all.

    Like

  2. Thank you for guest blogging at See Jane Publish and sharing your wonderful story with us. Of course I have to ask if there is a pool table in your home and whether or not it’s used to resolve issues? 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Asa,

    Oh, I’ll never tell! 😀
    Thanks for having me on your blog. Looking forward to seeing you in person.
    Gina

    Like

  4. Hi Gina! Thank you so much for stopping by the blog. When I see you in person, we’re going to have to discuss whether or not you threw that pool game. 😉

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

