Love at First Book (Melania Tolan)

Note from Jessie: I get the pleasure of introducing my friend Melania Tolan. We are writing buddies from the Rose City Romance Writers. When I first met her, I recognized a paranormal romance genre kindred spirit because we both had work-in-progress novels about vampires. The fact that she has gone on to produce a wonderful book to help women with postpartum depression doesn’t lessen me my excitement for the day her story returns to Romania.

I noticed the copy of Lost Cities of Atlantis, Ancient Europe, & the Mediterranean by David Hatcher Childress sitting on his bed. My heart instantly swelled with joy. Now this is someone I could get along with just fine, I thought, staring at the guy with wild red hair and matching bushy beard. He had a nice ass, too, but that’s beside the point.

Shelves overflowing with books sat at the head of the bed and in his closet. He had hundreds of books. But not just any books. Tomes on speculative history and archeology, science fiction, and fantasy novels filled every possible space in the bookcases. My mouth salivated.

“Can I borrow this?” I pointed to the Atlantis book on his bed.

“Yeah, sure.” The curious look on his face told me not many girls come over asking to borrow books on mythical cities.

11 years ago at our favorite beach

11 years ago at our favorite beach

I’d come over to visit his roommates, buddies of mine from high school, but quickly got bored with all the basketball talk. The guys were the only friends I had besides my family since I’d only moved to Portland a couple of months before. Eric, the third roommate who I only met once before, came to the rescue by changing the subject to movies and then books. My buddies got bored of all our nerdy book talk and went back to their sports conversation.

Several ski trips, a very long day hike, and a couple of movies later, we finally hooked up and never looked back. Our second official date he took me to Powell’s Books. He might as well have put a ring on my finger right then. Not only did we share a passion for books, he also encouraged me to write down all the crazy stories I rambled to him late at night.

This month we’ll be celebrating 11 years since our first date. This summer, 10 years of marriage AND the release of my debut fantasy young adult novel which takes place in Atlantis. To this day, our shelves are still overflowing with books and I can’t imagine anyone better to share them with.

Melania TolanMelania Tolan is the author of Urban Goddess Mama-How I got My Goddess Back After Postpartum Depression. She’s also a member of RWA’s Rose City Romance Writers. Her debut fiction novel, Temple of the Moon, will be out Summer 2015. When she’s not immersed in her writing, she can be found chasing a rambunctious toddler through a local park, exploring new hiking trails, or people watching downtown. You can read of her adventures in parenting and publishing at www.melaniatolan.com.

About Jessie Smith

Health Care Worker by Day, Aspiring Author by Night and 24/7 Staff for Riley (Corgie/Tibetan Spaniel Mix)

Posted on February 24, 2015, in Auth: Jessie Smith, Auth: Special Guest, Real-Life Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love all romances that starts with books! 🙂

    Like

  2. I loved this: “…he took me to Powell’s Books. He might as well have put a ring on my finger right then.” 🙂 It is so wonderful to have someone who supports you and adds to your creativity. Congrats on your upcoming 10th anniversary.

    Like

  3. Thank you for having me! Hmm that’s hard. So many great books to choose from. Probably the Harry Potter books, but also Mists of Avalon by Marion Bradley Zimmerman. Oh and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is up there too.

    Like

  4. Thank you for guest blogging with See Jane Publish and sharing your great story. So…. What is your favorite book of his ‘now’ on his bookshelf? 😄

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

