Romance Story Vignettes (Terri Reed and Darla Luke)

About the Author: Earlier this year Terri Reed made an announcement that her latest release served as her 30th published book. My jaw dropped to the floor with surprise and envy. Not only is she a successful author with a wonderful family but she also makes time to give back to the Romance genre. Currently she is doing a great job as the Rose City Romance Writers’ President.

Of All the Cards…

terrireedbookHi, Terri Reed here. Thank you to the ladies at See Jane Publish for inviting me to be a guest on your blog. Valentine’s is such a perfect time to reflect on love, though I think every day is a perfect time to appreciate our loved ones. I’ve been blessed with a wonderful husband for nearly 27 years and two fabulous kids, who are becoming fabulous adults. Believe it or not, I’m not a sentimental person so I don’t get all mushy about gifts and such at Valentines. I know, strange for a romance novelist, right?  Though my husband and I do exchange cards. A few years ago on Valentines days we handed each other a card. When we opened them we had to laugh because we’d picked out the same card.  It was a black and white photo of a couple kissing on a bridge. The inside said something to the effect, I couldn’t ask for a better partner to share my life with.  A sentiment we both apparently believe.

About the Author: Terri Reed’s romance and romantic suspense novels have appeared on Publisher’s Weekly top 25, Nielsen’s Bookscan top 100 and featured in terrireedUSA Today, Christian Fiction Magazine and Romantic Times Magazine. Her books have finaled in Romance Writers of America’s RITA contest, National Reader’s Choice Award contest and two times in American Christian Fiction Writers The Carol Award contest. Contact Terri @ www.terrireed.com or P.O. Box 19555 Portland, OR 97224

 

About the Author: Darla Luke is kind of woman people long to have as their girlfriend. She was one of the first ladies to take me under her wing when I joined Rose City Romance Writers and showed me the ropes. Most recently we got the opportunity to work together on the self-published novel, Girl Most Likely To

Growing Old Together

Wedding 1985My love story begins like many do…my husband was friends with my best friends’ husband. When we first met, I was engaged and he’d just broken up with his fiance. He seemed like a nice enough guy, but no sparks (I heard later that he was interested, but I was already taken – he was and is a gentleman, through and through). Months later, we were both visiting our mutual friends and went out to dinner as a group. I was 6 or 7 months pregnant at the time, and cringed when I thought how embarrassed he might be at the thought we were a couple. Little did I know, it didn’t bother him in the slightest, LOL!

It wasn’t until after my divorce and my son was three that we had our first (double) date. A month later he proposed by asking “Can you see us growing old together?” … and yes, I could. Gray haired, wrinkly faces, holding hands like kids on the front porch. When you know, you just know, so two months later we were married. Blessed with a beautiful daughter ten months later, nobody who knew us (or maybe just me, the jump-first-ask-questions-later kinda gal) thought we’d last five years.

Thirty years goes by in the blink of an eye. I can’t say it’s been a Happily Ever After story, because those exist only in the pages of a book, but I can definitely say again…Yes, I can see us growing old together.

Author the Author: Darla Luke writes Romance Suspense stories about Bad-Ass, Kick-butt Women and the men who would die for them. In her spare time, Darla enjoys kayaking and riding her motorcycle with hubby. After growing up in the concrete jungle of Southern California, she’s living her dream on the family farm in the beautiful mid-Willamette Valley, with hubby of 25 years, two grown children, two cats who are more like children then pets, and one sweet mutt who *thinks* she’s a lap dog.

About Jessie Smith

Health Care Worker by Day, Aspiring Author by Night and 24/7 Staff for Riley (Corgie/Tibetan Spaniel Mix)

Posted on February 25, 2015, in Auth: Jessie Smith, Auth: Special Guest, Real-Life Romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love these vignettes! I think the part about growing old together is so important. It’s easy to be in love when you’re young and fit and life is wonderful. It’s different when you’re dealing with historical baggage and life challenges. That’s when love really takes a beating and it’s the person still beside you who really counts.

    Like

  2. Great stories Darla and Terri 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you, Jessie for the invite and the kind words! So glad to have you for a friend!

    Like

  4. Thank you Terri and Darla for sharing your stories with us!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

