Where is here?

In my notes, I see that this month’s topic at See Jane Publish is “Where were you when?” Honestly, I’m not sure what that was supposed to inspire in me. Sometimes I don’t take such good notes. Hopefully the other Janes are more organizationally inclined or at least have better handwriting.

So instead I’m going to share where I am now. This has a couple advantages. One being that I know the answer to this question. And two, where I am is quite lovely.

IMG_1627

This is the Oregon coast in May. I’m here to write a book and a half in four days. Admittedly, they are not long books, but they are still keeping me busy with my morning, afternoon, and evening word counts.

Still, I can’t visit the coast without a daily walk on the beach. Because writing a book — even a short book — can feel long, and life is short. Since I need the reminder to enjoy what’s in front of me, not just what’s in my head, here are my rules for walking on the beach:

IMG_1702

Look around

Sometimes I get caught up in minutia and forget to appreciate the big picture. The big, pretty, golden (if slightly out of focus) picture.

IMG_1675

Look down

Sometimes minutia is really interesting! Bird tracks and scuttling sand fleas and rocks leaving arrows in the water, but only for a moment before it’s gone.

IMG_1695

Look up

Actually this one is not a “do” but a “don’t”. Seagulls, you know.

IMG_1648

IMG_1701

Look again

Things change depending on the point of view and the color of the mood. If I squint just right, sometimes I can change them to what I want them to be.

IMG_1669

 Look out

Always keep an eye out for treasures that the ocean keeps bringing to your feet. (And always look out for the sneaker waves that’ll take you back with them.)

If words were sand, my shoes would be full, but I still have miles to go. Looking at your week ahead, what are you most looking forward to?

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on May 4, 2015, in Auth: Jessa Slade and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love the Oregon coast! For a second there I was so envious. I’m working on a project right now that needs some serious attention, but it’s too easy to go the the “shiny” next to it. Thanks for the inspiration! Love the pics! This week…this is Sunday, I’ve written some words, captured a more fitting title, finished a lengthy blog post, and stepped out into the garden. Finishing the week on a high. That’s good. Did you actually get a book and a half done? You’re my hero, lol!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Jessa Slade and commented:

    My “See Jane Publish” post after a writing retreat at the coast…

    Like

  3. Sleep!!!! 🙂
    Enjoy your days at the coast.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

