Happy Octo-boo-er!

happyhalloween_Jessa Slade

This month at See Jane Publish, we’re doing a grab bag of spooktacular posts about whatever supernatural goodness we want — kind of like snagging the best stuff from the Halloween bowl of goodies. THERE WILL BE NO POPCORN BALLS, PEOPLE!

Or maybe some of you liked popcorn balls, in which case, you do you.

I thought I’d share the story of the time XY and I terrified a child.

On accident! But it was Halloween, so we only felt a little guilty…

One year we set up our usual decorations — some old corn stalks from the garden, a few tulle “ghosts” dangling from the edge of the porch, a fake severed arm that the dog gnawed to make more realistic — but we decided to go one step further. We set up a strobe light and a set of speakers near the door. I wore a big papier-mâché mask head to waist with a wide, screaming mouth. XY manned the stereo where we had a CD of “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” cued up to a blood-curdling scream. When trick-or-treaters would come to the door, I’d wrench it open wearing the mask and XY would kick the strobe light and the scream.

The kids loved it.

Except one kid…

Door rings, I open it, XY kicks the special effect… Kid runs off the porch, yelling for his mom.

Yikes! I ran after him with the candy bowl in my hand. Still wearing the mask, unfortunately.

By the time I got to him, he was halfway down the driveway with a trail of dropped candy behind him. I reimbursed him with a double handful of chocolate bars and Smarties (I know Smarties are almost as low value as popcorn balls, but for some reason I love them). Terrible people that we are, XY and I high fived, but I like to think that kid had a good story to tell too that night as he ate too much chocolate before bed.

So what’s your story of a fun Halloween scare?

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on October 5, 2015, in Auth: Jessa Slade and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I used to love Halloween when I was a child. In my neighborhood my uncle turned his front porch into a haunted house with dry ice, lights, music and scary objects. It was so cool.

    Now I live in an area where in the last five years I have had 2 trick or treaters. I tell myself that parents feel safer taking them to their schools or churches, etc.

    I’m thrilled to hear that trick or treaters still exist on other places… Even with a small percent of casualties.

    Like

  2. My dog gets super excited every Halloween because he things the trick-or-treaters are there for him. Actually, he thinks everyone who comes to our door are there to play with him. 🙂

    One Halloween we opened to door to find three teen-aged girls sitting on our stairs with the backs turned to the door. This was obviously some sort of cool schtick they had come up with. They were eerily silent and frozen in their poses. Until the dog snuffled their necks. That caused all kinds of squealing and they ran up the drive way before collapsing in giggling piles.

    Like

  3. Jessa, why am I not surprised you terrified a child? 🙂 Jamie, I wish I would have hit your house when I was a kid.

    My story is not one of frightening children or being nice to them. Instead it is one of embarrassment. When I was significantly younger, I was dating a military man. We had one of those long distance relationship. I lived in Utah and he lived in Virginia. It was someone I’d known since my first job out of college and we had reconnected five years later and started dating.

    He was coming out to visit near Halloween and I thought how fun it would be to greet him at the airport in my Halloween outfit, which was as a leprechaun. I’m Irish and he often commented positively about my Irish-ness. All dressed in my cute green outfit–miniskirt dress with green tights, pointy toe shoes, a magic wand and appropriate leprechaun hat–I waited at the gate for him. (This was in the days when you could go all the way to the gate.)

    When he disembarked there I was ready for my big kiss and plans for him finding a pot of gold later. Neither happened. He was utterly embarrassed, though he tried not to show it as we hurried to the car I saw all the looks of oh-my-god-what-are-you-doing-in-that-outfit. To this day I’m not sure why he was embarrassed. Is there some rule about leprechaun’s not greeting hard-ass military guys? Perhaps I’m naive about protocols or age appropriateness (I was 28).

    When I look back at it, I laugh because I think it was a sign that he didn’t know how to have fun. And he really did miss out on my plans for him that weekend. Since then, my Halloween outfits have always been unique, though I’ve never gone as leprechaun again.

    Like

    • Obviously his loss, Maggie! I would love to be greeted by a cute leprechaun, at the airport or anywhere else. 🙂

      Like

      • Thanks, Asa. I do think I won in the long run on that score. My husband is totally into uncool. The last Halloween do we attended, he dressed up as 1960’s hooker–fishnet stockings and all. He looked so good, that a couple of our church friends asked me if I knew who that woman was. 🙂 Now there’s a man who doesn’t take himself too seriously.

        Like

  4. At my mother-in-law’s house, in Felony Flats, where only the bravest of trick-or-treaters venture, we sat by the door waiting and waiting and waiting. We had our decorations but there were nooooo costumed customers. Until 9pm. We were just about to turn out the porch light in defeat, and up rolls this van, two parents followed by three weary kids in homemade costumes who dragged themselves out of the sliding van door. Clearly, our house was the afterthought-on-the-way-home-oh-just-one-more stop. The payoff was emptying three bags of mini-Muskateers — one bag into each plastic pumpkin. The kids hit the candy jackpot, squealed with happiness, and hopefully called it a night after that.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

