Scary but Exciting: The Mixed Emotions of Confronting Change

FinalCoverI’m on the cusp of a big change, one that I’ve been dreaming about for a long, long time. Change is always difficult and more than a little scary for me, and this new phase I’m about to enter is so big, it’s extra scary. My debut novel VIKING WARRIOR RISING releases on November 3!

On one hand, I can’t wait for this to happen. On the other, I’m very, very frightened. I’m looking forward to the release party. My mom is coming over from Sweden, friends are driving over from Seattle, and geographically closer friends all plan on being there to celebrate the occasion. After November 3, I will have taken the big step from writer to published author. What if I flop? What if people hate the book? Those questions are why I’m also looking at November 3 with trepidation.

I like routine, I like the familiar, change is scary and intimidating. But I also know it helps me grow.

As much as I have a hard time to adjust to my new role, I’m looking forward to my release day. I completed my very first novel in 2006. I didn’t sell until I’d written two more, so it was a long journey before I signed my first publishing contract. After I’d polished that very first novel, I headed to my very first writers conference in 2007 to network with other writers, and also to pitch my project to agents and editors. The 400+ participant conference overwhelmed me, so I took a break during one of the workshop sessions and went to the hotel restaurant for some food. There was only one other person there, a friendly woman who also wore a conference badge. She asked me to join her and it was easy to talk about books and writing. She asked me what I wrote and when I described my novel, she recommended I’d check out Romance Writers of America (RWA).

ChrisFThis professional writing organization ended up being a huge part of why I finally sold a novel. I learned craft and business processes through its workshops and classes. I researched and vetted publishing professionals at its conferences, which is how I found my dream agent and editor.

I also joined my local chapter and this weekend I had the pleasure of donating a basket filled with books written by my fellow Inland Empire Chapter writers for the Passport to Romance Reader Appreciation Event in Seattle. The basket contained an Advanced Readers Copy (ARC) of VIKING WARRIOR RISING. The very first copy of the book that I signed as an author. Guess who won the basket? That same lovely woman who told me about RWA eight years ago, the talented author and editor Christine Fairchild.

As much as new adventures scare me, I realize the familiar continues with me on the next steps in my journey. And I look forward to many more magical encounters as that one time in an empty restaurant when a scared and intimidated new writer took who had stepped out of her comfort zone to go to a writers conference all by herself met a gracious and generous stranger who gave the best advice ever and also became a friend.

Happy Writing! And Happy Halloween! May we all have the courage to step into the scary and unfamiliar so we can experience amazing adventures!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ps. If you’d like to learn more about Naya and Leif’s adventure in VIKING WARRIOR RISING, it’s available for pre-order at any of your favorite book retailers including these: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and BookDepository.com (Great retailer for international orders. They ship out of the UK and deliver free all over the world.)

För mina Svenska vänner och familj så har Bookus.com den Engelska versionen. Jag vet inte ännu ifall mitt Amerikanska förlag tänker sälja översättnings rättigheter.

About Asa Maria Bradley

2016 Double RITA finalist, romance author, news junkie, physics instructor, and diver. Loves Norse mythology, ranch dressing, and cop shows. Lives with husband and rescue dog of indeterminate breed in Pacific Northwest. Represented by Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency. Writers about sexy modern-day Vikings. More at www.asamariabradley.com and @AsaMariaBradley.

Posted on October 19, 2015, in Auth: Asa Maria Bradley and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Just pre-ordered through your link above! Can’t wait. Everyone will love you, I’m sure of this 🙂

    Like

  2. How wonderful for you, Asa! Enjoy the run up to the release. Your first published book will always be a special memory, so be in the moment and revel in all that entails. Exciting that your family can be here to celebrate with you as well.

    Don’t worry about what happens after. The answer is you will write the next book, and the next, and the next. And with each one you will get more readers who love you. That is what you have to look forward to as a writer. Congratulations!

    Like

    • Thank you, Maggie! It’s hard to keep my focus on writing the next book with all the fun and a little scary attention the first book’s launch is drawing. I’m allowing myself some weeks off to celebrate and then it’s back to putting words on the page. 🙂

      Like

  3. Ai! It’s almost here! So exciting! And how awesome to have your mom in for the big day. Everything IS changing but ya know, you still just write the stories. Enjoy every moment!

    Like

  4. Awwww…How crazy is life that it would circle back around like that! Change is scary and jumping from unpublished to published is a big leap. Suddenly strangers will be reading your book! (and friends…can’t wait to get my copy:) You’ll be great and I hope you have a great time on the 3rd:)

    Like

    • I’m not sure what scares me most, strangers reading the book or friends reading the book. 🙂 I’m also thrilled that the story is about to enter the world.

      Wish you lived closer so we could celebrate our releases together. 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comment!

