Thanks for Nothing. Really.

Photos courtesy of Death to the Stock Photo

Photos courtesy of Death to the Stock Photo

For the first time in what seems like forever (or about 18 months) I am staring down at my 2015 calendar and it is virtually empty. There is next to nothing on it. I’m basking, gratefully, in the freedom. Of course, my bank account balance is not basking, but that will be remedied soon enough. Right now though, I am positively alight with the idea of having no holiday plans whatsoever.

Last year was a nonstop job-event-family-more-events marathon with every single day, and every weekend, stacked with everything from conferences to parties to responsibilities. The best celebrations were making holiday cookies in a commercial kitchen with dozens of friends, and my annual wreath-making party. I’m not shy about letting anyone know I throw a great party. Hey, I’m a Libra. Still, too much of a good thing can quickly turn what’s supposed to be a fun-filled time of year into a chore.

Which is why I’m laying low this month and next, organizing my year-end taxes, streamlining my home, reading and focusing on all that I have to be grateful for right now. There are few distractions other than the dog hounding me for extra walks.

I haven’t been in this mental space in a very long time and I realize I have missed it. I also need to curb the urge to pick up the phone or send out emails, contacting friends I haven’t caught up with in a while. Happy hours and holiday shopping are on hold, too. The crazy-making pace and whirlwinds of non-stop activity that often define our culture… they can wait.

I’m not doing anything right now. But there’s always next year, I tell myself. 2016 will be here soon enough. I’m all about NOTHING right now. A Zen holiday!

In one word, can you sum up your thoughts or feelings toward the coming holiday weeks?

About Jamie Brazil

Humor writer, romance novelist, Bloodhound enthusiast.

Posted on November 9, 2015, in Auth: Jamie Brazil, Zen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad that you are making yourself a priority and clearing your calendar. However, since I had a *blast* at your wreath making holiday party, I’m hoping you will do one again next year 🙂

    Like

  2. Sounds so nice! I had a very rough year in 2013 and when the holidays came around, I did nothing. My husband went to celebrate with his family in the UK and was supportive when I explained that after several transatlantic trips earlier in the year to help my family with a crisis, the thought of getting on a plane again made my stomach turn. On Christmas day, I went to a friend’s house, but the rest of the holiday was just me and my dog. It was soooooooo peaceful and did wonders for my mental health.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for you! Enjoy yourself!

    Like

  4. One word? Aaaaaaarrrrrrghhhh! That’s a word, right? 😀

    Like

  5. Sound glorious to me. I’m all about avoiding stores from mid November until mid January. I’ve never been a good shopper and this time of year it is waaaayyyyyy to much visual input for my brain to process.

    I’m at nothingness. I am booked. However, I do have a wonderful 6 day writing retreat at the beach the first week of December. Though I’m writing, it is till as zen as I get because writing is the only thing I have to do then.

    Enjoy your nothingness. I think it is the perfect thing for you to do right now.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

