Refilling the well

This month’s topic at See Jane Publish is about refilling the creative well after a long year of productivity. As I type this, it is raining so hard every low spot in my view is more than overflowing. We are quite refilled now, thankyouverymuch, Portland in December. Sheesh.

If only the creative well was as easily refreshed! My year of productivity isn’t yet over, but I was worried I wasn’t going to make my word count. Luckily, I was able to retreat to the Oregon Coast for a few days last week. Instead of waiting for the creative deluge, I just dug deep and filled my own well.

Arriving at the coast, I could see my goal far off, like a misty castle on the horizon.

1

Or, possibly, Scylla and Charybdis waiting to crush me…

But the ship of my imagination was ready to sail!

2

Okay, there was a bit of waiting for the creativity tide to roll in.

Maybe some magic mushrooms sprouting from the damp earth could help…

3

As always, the battering ram against writer’s block must be kept nearby.

4

As were copious amounts of sugar and caffeine… (Who needs magic mushrooms anyway?!)

IMG_2965.JPG

And all the while, waves raged offshore: waters to fill the well or wash us away…

5

But with teacup and chocolate, netbook and notebook, I knew I could capture the storm.

6

Maybe next time I’ll wait patiently for the well to fill. Until then, I’ll keep digging. And if I can’t get to that castle on the horizon, maybe I’ll build one right here.

7

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on December 7, 2015, in Auth: Jessa Slade, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hmmm…I was on that retreat and though I agree with everything you said, I didn’t see some of those things. That’s what I get for not walking on the beach. It was glorious and you did a marvelous job getting your words done.

    Like

  2. Wow! The view from your writing spot is spectacular. What kind of retreat did you go on? You only or did you get a group of writers going? As always, I love your photography and I’m glad you got those words down on the page while on the coast, no matter how hard you had to work to get them to stick. 🙂

    Like

  3. I always enjoy your humor and tenacity.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Jessa Slade and commented:

    Thoughts and photos from my writing retreat last week shared on See Jane Publish…

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

