Meet the Spectacular Carolyn Brown!

CarolynBrownThis month we’re discussing how to fill our creative wells here on the blog. I recharge by reading. That’s also how I relax and how I reward myself. Basically, I can’t go wrong with reading when it comes to making myself feel better. Someone whose work I really enjoy curling up with is visiting with us today to talk about writing, getting the call, and loving the romance genre. New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Carolyn Brown was born in Texas and raised in southern Oklahoma, which explains her fabulous southern women’s fiction  and also her fantastic contemporary cowboy romances. I’m a huge fan of both and as a special treat today, you have a chance to become one too!

Leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered for a chance to win a signed copy of THE YELLOW ROSE BEAUTY SHOP and (!!) an Advanced Readers Copy of WILD COWBOYS WAYS . You will not be disappointed, trust me. And (!!!!) if you’re reading this on the day we first posted, you’ll also have a chance to win a diamond necklace. Just check out the link at the end of the post for  one of Carolyn’s publisher’s super cool promotion. 

Let’s get to to our chat!

-What are the opening lines of WILD COWBOY WAYS?

The Lucky Penny had never lived up to its name and everyone in Texas knew it. Owners had come and gone so often in the past hundred years that if the deeds were stacked up, they’d put the old Sears catalog to shame. Maybe the two sections of land should have been called Bad Luck Ranch instead of the Lucky Penny, but Blake Dawson couldn’t complain¬–not for the price he, his brother and cousin had paid for the place.

-Sounds like another classic Carolyn Brown opening. I love how well you craft those and how your unique charming voice always comes through. When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

The day I figured out that a Big Chief Tablet and one of those fat pencils could write letters that made words and words on paper could be the stories I’d been telling my younger brother. I think I was five years old and it was pure magic.

-Wow, you got started WAY early! What most surprised you on your journey to write and publish your first novel?

That after twenty years of submissions I finally got “the call.” I had enough rejection slips to wall paper the whole White House!

-That was quite the perseverance. Now that you have finished more than seventy books, what do you love most about being a romance writer?

Being a writer means I can work in my pajamas. But being a romance writer means I get to touch people’s emotions.

-You truly do have an amazing way of connecting with your readers’ emotions. What do you love most about the romance genre as a whole?

Love is an experience that takes a person on a roller coaster ride. In a romance book, it’s taking a reader from point one when they are fastened into the roller coaster and the ride begins (page one) to the end of the ride (the last page) where hopefully the reader sighs at the happy ever after. What I love most is giving my readers that emotional journey.

-And as you created that emotional journey in WILD COWBOY WAYS, what most surprised you about your main characters?

My characters always surprise me. Telling their story is a journey where we get to know each other. What surprised me most about Allie was her finally trusting another man. What surprised me about Blake was that he was really willing to give up his wild ways.

-What would surprise your readers to know about you?

That I have fifteen grandchildren (twelve are girls) and my eleventh great grandchild is due in January. Yes, ma’am, I was a very young bride and mother.

-That is a surprise! With all those kids around, it’s a wonder you find the time to write. 🙂 Who is your favorite writing mentor and why?

Every author I ever met has taught me something. Every book I ever read taught me something. To choose one mentor when there are so many would be impossible.

-So if we don’t make you pick one particular mentor, what’s the best writing advice you ever received?

The same advice I give aspiring authors: write the book. Don’t write half of it and then start another one. Sit your fanny in the chair and write the book. It may be trash but at least you’ll have something to edit or rewrite.

-That’s awesome advice. Who would you cast to play the hero and heroine of WILD COWBOY WAYS?

I would love for Rachel Bilson to play Allie. She’s got fire and gorgeous brown eyes. And I can see Scott Eastwood in the role of Blake. Oh. My. Goodness. To see this story portrayed on the big screen would be such an honor!

I would love to see WILD COWBOY WAYS on the big screen! To tie us over until that happens, here’s an excerpt: 

WildCowboyWays_RGB300She took several seconds to get her thoughts together. “I care about Lizzy and Mama and Granny. I don’t care if you are telling me pretty words that you’ve told lots of women before me. I don’t care about your past. I’ll burn those bridges for you if you’ll hand me a stick of firewood and a match.”
How he managed to stand up in a slippery, wet tub with her in his arms, then step out without falling, was a miracle. But suddenly, she found herself wrapped in that brand new robe he’d talked about and her hand was in his, letting him lead her to the living room. He tossed a quilt over the sofa and motioned for her to sit. She obeyed without arguing and he carefully brought the ends of the quilt up around her legs.
“Don’t go away,” he smiled.
Leaving wet footprints on the floor and dripping water as he disappeared into his bedroom, he whistled a tune that she recognized as “Honey Bee” by Blake Shelton. In a few minutes he returned, dressed in gray sweat bottoms and a long-sleeved thermal shirt. He carried a towel in one hand and a hair brush in the other.
“Slide forward about a foot,” he said.
When she did, he settled in behind her, one long muscular leg on each side of her body. He towel dried her hair and then massaged her scalp with his fingertips. Holy smoking shit! Her body felt like a rag doll and yet every nerve was on high alert, wanting more, begging for his wonderful hands to touch them, also.
“Mmmm,” she mumbled.
“Is it making it better?” he drawled.
He started brushing her hair and a whole new set of emotions surfaced. She was afraid to move an inch for fear she’d find out this was all a dream and she would wake up with that grinding hangover or worse yet in her lonely bed at home.
His hands grazed her cheeks as he pulled her damp hair back to run the brush through it. Then he leaned forward and kissed her softly on the side of her neck.
“We were going to talk,” she whispered.
“We are talkin’, darlin’. We’ll use words when necessary,” he said, softly.

Get your very own copy from Amazon or Barnes & Noble. WILD COWBOY WAYS is also available at Walmart, Target, and many of your favorite bookstores. 

Leave a comment below for a chance to win a signed ARC of WILD COWBOY WAYS, as well as a signed copy of THE YELLOW ROSE BEAUTY SHOP. Because I am traveling a lot during the holiday season, we’re keeping this contest open longer than originally planned. The winner will be announced and contacted on January 8. 🙂

But wait, there’s more. If you pre-order WILD COWBOY WAYS or buy a copy of THE WEDDING PEARLS, also by Carolyn, you can enter Grand Central’s promotion and get a free short story as well as be entered for a chance to win a diamond necklace. Click on the image below for more details. (Entries must be submitted by December 21, 2015 at 11:59 PM EST. Open to residents of US and Canada only.)

Thank you Carolyn for visiting with us today!  

DiamondNecklace

 

 

About Asa Maria Bradley

2016 Double RITA finalist, romance author, news junkie, physics instructor, and diver. Loves Norse mythology, ranch dressing, and cop shows. Lives with husband and rescue dog of indeterminate breed in Pacific Northwest. Represented by Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency. Writers about sexy modern-day Vikings. More at www.asamariabradley.com and @AsaMariaBradley.

Posted on December 21, 2015, in Auth: Asa Maria Bradley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I owe everyone a HUGE apology for not posting the winner on time. A family emergency forced me to drop everything and go home to Sweden to be with my loved ones there. But we do have a winner, Random.org picked Stacey Harness as the lucky recipient of Carol’s two books. I will email Stacey to tell her how to claim her prize.

    Thank you so much to everyone else for visiting the blog.

    Like

  2. Love this, can´t wait for my chance to read! =)
    Happy Holidays!
    //Linda

    Like

  3. Great interview Asa and Carolyn! Carolyn, I loved hearing about your life. And I loved the excerpt!! What a great ending line–I’m in love already!!

    Like

  4. Joyce Vanderslice

    Enjoyed your interview with CarolynBrown. I love her romance books I have almost all them on kindle. When Carolyn writes her stories I feel like I am there. She is such a descriptive writer. Not only location of story, which makes you want to visit that place, but her characters also. I have The Wedding Pearls & Wild Cowboy Ways, reading now. She is a fantastic writer.

    Like

  5. Recently downloaded Carolyn Brown’s book, “The Ladies Room” on my Kindle. I enjoyed it so much I couldn’t put it down! With the setting of the book being in my home town, I was drawn in. Then, after asking around, I found out that I know some of Mrs. Brown’s relatives who still live in beautiful Tishomingo, Oklahoma! This book was a great read and the way she describes the town of Tishomingo in this book just fits it perfectly! I had a great time curled up with a good book on cold, winter day beside the fireplace! I’ll be reading more by this author!

    Like

  6. Thank you, Asa, for letting me visit your blog…and thank you for all the comments, folks! I have the best friends, family and readers in the whole world!

    Like

  7. Carolyn Brown writes the most awesome books. I fall in love with each and every one. She take her readers right along with her character on the same ride. Even if you never been in love in “real” life or you didn’t get your HEA, you do with Carolyn ‘ books.

    Like

  8. she is best writer that i have ever know. I have enjoyed her and writing for many years and hope for many more years to come

    Like

  9. I grew up in the same small town where Carol lives. I have adored her for years and couldn’t be happier for all her success!

    Like

  10. sounds interesting

    Like

  11. Great interview, Asa! Thanks for introducing me to a romance writer I haven’t yet read. I do like me some cowboys.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

