Wanting to meet a K-9 dog without Breaking the Law

My friend recently posted this image to my Facebook timeline and I think it perfectly captures my enthusiasm for dogs.

12734082_1053463568057645_1061977745828067981_n

My love for dogs goes beyond my own home. If you are my friend and you own a dog, there is a good chance I have smothered them with affection. Even dogs of my fellow Janes have to deal with me. See evidence below.

Jessie with Asa's Sammy

Jessie with Asa’s Sammy

Jessie with Jessa's Monster Girl

Jessie with Jessa’s Monster Girl

So when my friend Terri Reed put out an announcement about a 2.5 month citizen’s academy with our local sheriff’s office, I wasn’t jumping up and down to give up my Tuesday nights until I found out that there would be a class about the K-9 unit and I would be able to meet one of the dogs.

I realize that K-9 dogs are not pets. They serve a role in our community and have a purpose for their lives. I have seen the media footage of K-9 dogs tracking a person or substance, tackling a suspect, and protecting their handler from harm. Since I have no intention of breaking the law, I never thought I would have the opportunity to interact with a K-9 dog. So getting to meet Chase, the newest member to the Washington County K-9 unit was a real treat.

It turns out that most K-9 dogs are a European bred of German Sheppards, selected for their agility, ability to focus and honed prey instincts. Thousands of dollars are invested in these animals even before they are matched with their handlers to begin the long process of training them as a team. I have the upmost respect for what they do and since Chase’s handler gave us the green light to interact with him, I was the first one to try…and succeed.

IMG_3828 (2)IMG_3823 (3)chase and jessie

 

K-9 fascinate me because they show that man’s best friend can help keep this world a better place. They are loyal, fearless, and save lives. They are four-legged heroes. It’s my dream to write a series about K-9 dogs and their handlers. My classmate Terri Reed has already accomplished this goal by using the knowledge she gained in the classroom into her upcoming story, Protect and Serve, which will be released on April 5, 2016. I can’t wait! But that’s just me, I’m a sucker for any book with a good dog on the cover.

ProtectandServe

terri reed

Terri Reed and I at a recent author event where I was lucky to get an autographed copy of her latest novel

 

About Jessie Smith

Health Care Worker by Day, Aspiring Author by Night and 24/7 Staff for Riley (Corgie/Tibetan Spaniel Mix)

Posted on February 22, 2016, in Auth: Jessie Smith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. BTW, Angus is a 100 lb snuggler and he awaits your visit.

    Like

  2. I’m a sucker for books with dogs on the cover too. My favorite working dog memoir is “Red Dog Rising” — about a Bloodhound and his handler, of course. Not all working dogs are 24-7 business. Many have lives outside of work. Seriously 🙂

    Like

  3. Putting a puppy on the cover is one-clicky for me too!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

