Spring cleaning

I had to go searching through my email to find out what this month’s topic was at See Jane Publish because I am so unorganized – so it amused me to find this topic is “Spring Cleaning – Organization”. Cleaning and organizing is one of my New Year’s Resolutions every year so I thought I’d check in to see how I’m doing.

My intent is to have my life be something like this:

IMG_3245

Calm. Peaceful. Tidy. (Or at least washed away by the tide every night.) The big rocks of my projects supported by the little pebbles of my to-do list.

Really, though my life looks like this:

angry computer.JPG

A fractal descent into chaos.

This year is particularly scary because I’ve committed to more words than I’ve ever produced. We’re barely into the third month of the year, and I’m already panicking. Must zen…

IMG_3185

(A blooming bush – quince, I believe – on the morning dog walk.)

Zen would be better if I closed my eyes and ninjas came to clean the windows. But then the iffy spring light would shine on the cobwebs, so maybe ixnay on the ninjas. (In my defense, the cobwebs are from the spiders I’m keeping to eat the ants. We have terrible ant infestations in Oregon in the spring.)

If I want to get my scheduled words written in 2016, maybe I’ll have to live with some dust on the piano and nose prints on the windows – not mine, the dog’s! Because as much as I tell myself I want to be clean and organized, apparently I don’t want it enough. At least the bookshelf never gets dusty. 😀

I’ll just open those nose-printed windows and let the spring breeze blow in like an invisible ninja and blow out some of the cobwebs. I’ll gaze out at the fluffy white clouds of March and imagine them in the shapes of tidy closets and color-coordinated organizer notebooks… Hey wait, those aren’t fluffy white clouds…

IMG_3260

I guess there is a little bit of cleaning I have to do after all…

And yeah, I didn’t make the bed. 😀

Do you have one must-do spring cleaning task? Share in comments and maybe I’ll pretend I’m going to do it too…next year.

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on March 7, 2016, in Auth: Jessa Slade, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. The only way I get any spring cleaning done is to give myself a HUGE writing deadline. The cleaning gets done while I procrastinate the writing. 🙂

    Like

  2. My goal for spring cleaning is to organize my closet and get rid of clothes that no longer fit or I haven’t worn all year. But I Fail! I have a whole section of my closet dedicated to clothes that someday I will be able to wear once I lose a million pounds 😄

    Like

  3. My nemesis is the refrigerator. I don’t know how it happens. At first it’s a stray crumb from the bread. Then it’s a sticky spot from a slight leak in the milk jug. Then something dark–really it can’t possibly be chocolate. Today, as I unloaded groceries into an almost empty frige I wondered where all the little crumbly bits came from and why didn’t I notice them BEFORE going to get groceries and filling up the thing again?

    Ah well, maybe next week I’ll time it all right, notice it, and …sorry it’s the end of the day ennui

    Like

  4. What?! Spring ants? They must head to your place first before teaming up with the carpenter ants and hitting my house in the summer. Armed and ready with foggers this year (found them while spring cleaning). Happy to share the bounty of insecticide.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

