Second Quarter Fear

Guess who is most of a week late with her post?! ME!

Which is a perfect lead-in to this month’s topic at See Jane Publish: checking in with our New Year’s Resolutions now that we’re in 2016:Q2.

Remember those resolutions? They were made waaaaaay back in the early days of 2016, when the calendar was young and hope sprang eternal. Springing like a delicate fern uncurling from the mulch…

fern

But now it is actually spring, and hope smells like the rank chicken manure we just dumped in last winter’s kitchen scraps to break it down in time for this year’s garden.

Kind of appropriate, I guess, since my 2016 goals are a rich, rotten hash of 2015’s dreams and plans, successes and failures spread thickly on the new year in an effort to grow a new crop of stories. There’s bound to be some rocky parts to dig through, chunks of broken glass to throw out (I swear our garden is sited on a combo riverbed/garbage dump), clumps of useless old roots to break up, plus tender new shoots to protect and nurture.

My goal on January 1 was to write 500,000 words in 2016. (Insert maniacal laughter here.) In January, I was on task and on target! In February, I had to hustle a little at the end of the month to meet my spreadsheet. In March… Well, anyway. Here it is, April and my writing goals are a bit behind. (Insert maniacal tears here.) But my garden is ahead!

lily valley

So far this year, I:

  • Released book #9 (!) of the Mating Season ~ Wolves of Angels Rest: FIGHTER
  • Finished and published the first two books of the Mating Fever ~ Masters of the Flame: DRAGON FEVER and DRAGON FATE
  • Packaged my first three science fiction romances into a box set, The L’Auraly Crystal Chronicles: Sheerspace Book 1-3
  • Await release of book #3 of the Mating Fever ~ Masters of the Flame: DRAGON FALL

I’m pleased! I’m breathing those lily of the valley as I type this, and they are so sweet. And yet I know I have three-quarters of the year ahead of me still, full of temptations and tasks, both to be conquered.

As with the garden, laying out the garden beds and poking tiny seeds into cold earth, I’ve prepared for the writing year ahead. But I also know I’m subject to whims and weather, so who knows what’ll pop out of the ground — or my computer — later? Hopefully something that’ll feed me. 😉

How are you doing on your goals? Share in comments and good luck in our next season of growth!

J&T

Obligatory shot of me and Monster Girl

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on April 8, 2016, in Auth: Jessa Slade, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love that picture of you and MG!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

