In honor of Mother’s Day

mutant-rose

Photo Credit: My neighbor, Deb H., who gave a loving home to my extra rose bush only to be rewarded by this mutant bloom

 

Since this is the month of Mother’s Day, here at See Jane Publish we thought we’d share some of the strong women in our lives. Here, strong women, have a pretty mutant rose! Mwah!

Strong women are very much in the news lately, both in story news and in the rest of the wider world. (Which apparently exists outside books? Who knew?) From the discussion of “strong female characters” in the movies to the role of more women in Hollywood in general, from the power (and lack thereof) of women in politics to the very personal (like, in-your-pants personal) definition of what it means to be a woman. It’s an interesting time to be a woman, and I think we’ve come a long way, baby!

But we still have a way to go and there’s still a lot to learn, so I want to share a few lady resources that have made me think and laugh lately.

N.K. Jemisin

I stumbled upon her book The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (run go get it and her newest too) back when it was released. Blew my mind, man. I started following her and have since absorbed so many smart essays I would’ve never otherwise found. Her speculative worlds opened up my REAL world, which I think is pretty freaking cool.

Alisha Rai

It’s not often you find a romance heroine in real life, but look — here’s Alisha Rai! Not only is her Glutton for Pleasure a guilt-free pleasure, but she knows all sorts of interesting people (click on Meljean Brooks’ link for a book-related workout) which makes following her a two-fer. (Note: Glutton also has two-fer heroes so there’s that. See why I follow her!)

Reductress

For quick snippets of female fun and fury (because both those are good) I recently found “the feminist Onion”. Just a quick peek at their headlines should be enough to convince you:

  • 5 Granola Bars That Will Make You Want to Scale a Fucking Mountain With Your Boyfriend
  • Beautiful! This Woman Embraced Her Boring Natural Hair Color
  • 5 Hand Placements on Your Boyfriend’s Stomach To Make Sure Everyone Knows You Own Him

I hope you have a strong woman in your life to celebrate with mutant flowers, a gift (maybe a book!) or a shared laugh. Or maybe YOU are that strong woman! If so, Happy Day to you!

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on May 2, 2016, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the humor to start my morning. Whatever that granola bar is, I WANT IT 🙂

    Like

  2. YOU blow my mind with what you find, Jessa. I’ll look up N.K. Jemison.

    My favorite mind-blowing woman author is still Octavia Butler. I still frequently think about her Xenogenesis trilogy nearly 30 years after she wrote it.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for your comment!

