Saluting Hermione Granger: Carmen Cook

When Jessie sent me the message with her idea to distribute books in the spirit of the lovely Emma Watson’s activism, I was immediately intrigued and excited by the thought. Of COURSE I want to participate. There was no hesitation in my desire to join this fabulous cause. But, I didn’t say yes right away because Jessie’s message said something about distributing “the book of our hearts” and for all of the wonderful books I’ve read through the years, I had no idea which book to pick.

A few days after the invitation I was at a Christmas party, speaking to a woman I’d only met a few minutes before and mentioned this idea. We started talking about all the possible books and it came to me in a flash. I had to pick Little Women. I’m not sure why it didn’t occur to me right away, but it was perfect. It was the first book I read where I was completely invested in the characters. I ached for them when they cried, was angry when them when they were betrayed and cheered for each accomplishment. Jo March was everything I could ever hope to be. Fearless, genuine and true to her heart.

carmen-cook

I happily dragged my children with me while we distributed the books and sincerely hope they bring a smile to the face of whomever finds them.

***

ronlyn_carmen

Carmen Cook loves a good book, some high heels and a good cup of coffee (or glass of wine, depending on the time of day). Reading became a passion when her parents told her she could stay up thirty minutes after bedtime if she was reading, and from then on, she always had at least one book going. She never dreamed of writing until her husband, listening to the stories she’d make up with their sons, encouraged her to give it a shot and gifted her with a membership to RWA for her birthday. Her debut novel will come out in 2017. Carmen loves connecting with romance writers and readers. For more information please visit www.carmencooknovels.com or find her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/carmenacook and Twitter & Instagram @CarmenCook_.

About Jessie Smith

Health Care Worker by Day, Aspiring Author by Night and 24/7 Staff for Riley (Corgie/Tibetan Spaniel Mix)

Posted on January 7, 2017, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you Carmen for going on this adventure with me and selecting such an excellent book!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

