Finding My Funny Bone

flamingophotoYesterday I threw out my January 2017 poster board of goals. In a quest to Marie-Kondo-ize that closet you see there behind me — the closet that up until yesterday held a mash up of both literary and garage sale sins — I figured out that I lost my sense of humor.

Yeah, it’s been a tough go of things this year.

My sense of humor was NOT in the closet. It is somewhere, but it was not in the closet.

In the meantime, I heaped piles in the middle of my office floor and edited. Brutally.  Boxed papers for shredding. Stacked a four-foot-high tower of stuff near the front door to be re-homed. There are wicker baskets (why do I own a large collections of wicker baskets?) , hangers, clothes that don’t fit me, things I’ll never get around to selling, books (lots of books) and the ramblings of half-finished projects. Oh, and at the aforementioned garage sales, I’ve found REALLY USEFUL things like light-up animatronic flamingos.

Hmmm. The center of the floor was still a mess.

Disheartened by the chaos I bailed and went to a movie (Wonder Woman… brilliant… though the stabs of humor in the script felt forced).

Mentally restored, I returned home and tackled the last of the pile, finishing my task around 9pm. Exhausted, with an aching elbow that I don’t know how I injured, and still humorless.

What I do know is that I need a fresh start. For writing, for excavating even deeper than an office closet, and for laughter that comes from the belly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Jamie Brazil

Humor writer, romance novelist, Bloodhound enthusiast.

Posted on June 7, 2017, in Auth: Jamie Brazil, General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You may be right on the money there Maggie 🙂

    Like

  2. I admit I’m giggling here. I don’t follow all your posts all the time. However, the last one I remember also had to do with you and your closet. I think there is a special relationship there. It’s like the place where all sins go and you need to know they are there jus tin case you need to drag out a sin and have fun. 🙂

    Or is the other way around, that you stuff all your dreams in there and once or twice a year, you clear them out for new ones? In any case, happy cleaning, burning, remembering, forgetting. The solution may be not to have a closet at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for your comment!

